Skip to content

We’re having a baby!

October 26, 2010

It’s true – we are expecting our 4th child in May of 2010 and we couldn’t be happier!  I’ve been meaning to write about everything going on – but basically the past couple months would have been something like: “I feel sick, I’m so tired, I feel really sick, I’m so exhausted, I need french fries, I need more french fries etc…” So I spared you all those blog posts and am now ready to move on to sharing all the excitement of the pregnancy and growing our family.  But first – I did take some time to sit down and write my very first thoughts after I found out we were expecting again (you will notice I avoid the word “pregnant” for some reason it has a dirtier, negative, clinical vibe to it now – maybe due to MTV’s show – 16 & Pregnant – ??).  This was before I got to tell my husband or anyone – it was a surreal moment for me – so please do forgive me for the “scatteredness” of it all.

Friday August 27th, 2010

This morning I found out I am going to become a mommy of four in about nine months.  I’m giddy with excitement and feeling so incredibly blessed.

In certain ways I feel like a first time mom in the sense that this is the first time we have “tried” for a baby.  Please don’t start calling my other children “accidents” – I hate it when I hear people say that.  They weren’t planned and they were a surprise but by no means would I ever consider one of them an accident.  I think God knew exactly what he was doing when he blessed me with each of them.

This is the first time I have anxiously wondered every day though if this was the time it was going to happen.  The past few days I had a feeling.  The bulging tummy was a little sign however I have been on vacation this month and ate Chipotle for dinner last night so that could easily have been from just lack of a good diet.  But the EXTREME tiredness, the emotions, those were little mini signs.   And oddly enough it was really my new found obsession with food that was really the tipping point.  I have never in my life liked mustard or any form of it – and within the past couple weeks I have been craving honey mustard like no other.  Which is crazy to me.  I remember being pregnant with Jax and wanting to cry over food (which I almost did last night) and I ate mass amounts of ketchup all through my pregnancy with Jax. So I took the test and couldn’t believe my eyes when I saw the results.  My husband is at work and I can’t wait to tell him tonight.

I have so many things running through my head today – I hope this baby is safe and healthy, I hope I can work out and eat decent through my pregnancy.  I hope I can work hard through the whole pregnancy and be ready when Baby B #4 comes along. I hope pregnancy brain doesn’t get the best of me (Kobe will suffer the most from this) and I hope I am nice to my husband.  I can’t decide if we should find out what it is – not knowing with Jackson was amazing and an incredible surprise – but there is a serious lack of planning and preparation with that option. And then logistics become a factor.  Plus Matt (my husband) really wants to find out and it killed him to not know with Jackson.  I wonder if the doctors will have me take shots again and if they will treat this pregnancy as a high risk one like they did with my last one. I’m anxious to see how the kids react to having another brother or sister and I secretly hope its twins so I can get those 5 kids I was going for – and knowing twins will be the only way my husband will ever allow it. 🙂

Well – there you have it – my early on ramblings.  Thanks to everyone who has already been so supportive – it’s a pretty amazing feeling to feel so much love and support from our friends, family and clients.  And check back often – we will have updates!!

 

 

 

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Christy Hogan permalink
    November 3, 2010 10:30 pm

    Congratulations Catherine! So very happy for you, Matt and the kids!

Leave a Reply

